Top 5 Reasons We Homeschool

Why do we homeschool? What made us decide to take this educational path with our children? Are we religious weirdos or is there something wrong with our kids? Are we anti-schooling?

These are questions homeschoolers often get whenever they reveal themselves (which most of us are so convicted about our vocation that we want to shout it from the roof tops). There’s another question we often get asked; it involves the dreaded “s” word. Most homeschoolers, though, will often tell you in one way or another that socialization was exactly one of the reasons they chose to homeschool. This post just concerns the first two questions.

Our journey began about two years ago. Our oldest dd was around 3, and my friend Kelly’s oldest child child was about 4 1/2. Kelly casually mentioned in a letter (yes, we write real letters to each other) that she and her husband were considering homeschooling. I really wasn’t too surprised, but I thought it would make a lively debate. So I started doing research of my own so that I could take the anti-homeschooling position. Kelly was very shocked when she received my next letter, and I explained that we had now decided to homeschool our kids as well. She said it was easiest time she ever had converting anyone to homeschooling.

Now I was never adamantly against homeschooling. Whenever it was mentioned, I would say that it was something I would have to look into more. And of course I would sometimes mention the “s” word. I never seriously considered it, though. I just assumed our kids would go to school, because that’s just the way the world works.

What changed my mind? Well, the first book I read was So You’re Thinking About Homeschooling by Lisa Whelchel of “Facts of Life” fame. The book shares the stories of 15 diverse homeschooling families, including her own. It describes why they decided to homeschool, their family circumstances, and their various homeschooling methods. It really highlighted many of the questions and concerns about homeschooling in an entertaining and eye-opening way. I really became aware of all of the positive possibilities that homeschooling could afford our children and our family.

I could go into all of the things that caught my attention about homeschooling, but frankly I don’t have the time. And there are about fifty other books that go into plenty of detail. Here are the top 5 reasons why we choose to homeschool:

1. So our children can have a customized education that can be adjusted to fit their individual abilities, interests, and personalities.

2. So our children will model their behavior and values on their family rather than their peer group.

3. To maximize positive social interactions and minimize negative social interactions to which our children are exposed. (Realizing that negative social interactions are a natural part of life, but they do not have to be dominant over positive ones.)

4. So our children will keep their love of learning, because it will take them anywhere they want to go in life.

5. So that we can give our children what we feel that they need to grow into happy, responsible, and giving adults.

Explore posts in the same categories: Homeschooling/Education

Leave a Reply

