Pet Peeve #4: Yes, I Know I Don’t Even Look Pregnant

I never want to be pregnant again.  Because if I hear one more person comment, “If you hadn’t told me, I would have never realized you were pregnant” I am going to scream.  Believe me, I am pregnant.  I have gone up two underwear sizes.  Even my maternity clothes are starting to not fit me.  I haven’t hardly slept in a month because I can’t get comfortable in the bed for more than 15 minutes before my ribs and upper back start aching.  There is a person in my belly that likes to stretch her legs at least ten times a day.  I am 36-weeks freakin’ pregnant.

I know, I know, I should be thankful that I have never been one of those poor women that looks and feels like she is having triplets at 20 weeks.  I should be thankful that I was blessed to be designed tall and thin.  I should be thankful that since I tend to be “all-baby” I will probably regain my pre-pregnancy figure pretty quickly.  (Not that I am sure I want it.  I really could stand to keep at least 15 of the 25 pounds I’ve gained.  I tend to drop it pretty fast, though, between the high octane breast milk my body produces and how I forget to eat when I get busy.)

It’s just very frustrating.  I think it has been worse with this pregnancy because this is my first time being big during the winter and spring.  All of the sweatshirts and coats necessary to keep from freezing in the icy Chicago wind tend to hide my volleyball-shaped front.  With the first two pregnancies, I was wearing tank tops in the hot summer sun in which my big belly was more obvious.

I know, I’m just being cranky.  Maybe it’s because I’m very PREGNANT!!  Or maybe it’s because my two-year-old decided she was ready to wake up at at 6:30 this morning, as if I’m not sleep-deprived enough.  I swear, I am betting that I will get more sleep after this baby comes than I am getting now.  For one thing, most of the bodily discomfort will be gone.  Also, I will have a few days with grandparents here to help take care of the other munchkins so I can rest with the new one.   Maybe in an hour or so I can coax the toddler into taking a nap with me.

Explore posts in the same categories: Pet Peeves

Leave a Reply

