A Little Star Wars Related Humor

About ten years ago I was in a grocery store in Tennessee and noticed a headline on the front of a newspaper.  It read “Senate Avoids Rancor”.  The first thing that came to my mind was a vision of the giant monster that Luke Skywalker fights at the beginning of Return of the Jedi, the rancor.  I imagined the rancor in the middle of the Senate chambers at the Capitol Building with one or two senators stuck in his teeth and a few more in his claws waiting to be eaten as the rest fled for cover.  The vision still cracks me up to this day.

Then I remember sitting in the movie theater watching Revenge of the Sith.  When it got to the part where Anakin is pulling what is left of his body out of the lava pit, I turned to my husband and in my best imitation of Will Ferrell’s Mustafa from Austin Powers said, “I’m still alive.  I’m just very badly burned.”  My husband just cracked up.

Ok, so maybe you won’t find either of these anecdotes funny.  But every post can’t be about the defects of institutional schooling or taking care of babies.  Although as funny as those moments were to me, they still don’t compare to pulling up outside the Indiana Convention Center before the Star Wars Convention in 2002 and seeing Storm Troopers walking nonchalantly around the streets of downtown Indianapolis.  That was just surreal.

Explore posts in the same categories: Entertainment

Tags: , ,

You can comment below, or link to this permanent URL from your own site.

One Comment on “A Little Star Wars Related Humor”

  1. Laura Witten Says:

    I gotta say, that is funny. And last year in Indy (GenCon – mid-August), I took a picture of 3 storm troopers standing beside Jack Sparrow.

    If you ever want to meet Aaron and I in Indy for GenCon, we’ll be there!


Leave a Reply

