Tease Me with the Half-Blood Prince

Well, the teaser trailer for the movie version of Harry Potter and the Half-Blood Prince has just been released.  I don’t know what movie it was attached to in the theaters; there was some debate about that over at the Leaky Cauldron.  But in this advanced age of the internet, there’s no need go to the theater just to see the trailer for much anticipated movies.

I have mixed feeling about the teaser.  I think it is really Gothic and creepy (which is good); I can definitely see the artistry.  I especially like the dialogue once the screen goes dark at the end.  I was a little disappointed with Dumbledore, though, and it wasn’t just because I don’t like Michael Gambon as the new Dumbledore.  (Like many HP fans I feel that the late Richard Harris did better at portraying the more silly side of Dumbledore.)  Once I realized what scene from the book the teaser was about to show, I wanted to see younger Dumbledore with long auburn hair and a bright magenta suit.  Alas, I got a gray-haired Dumbledore with shorter facial hair and a nondescript suit.  This is obviously a directorial issue rather than an acting issue.

I’m really hoping that in the scene leading up to Dumbledore knocking on the orphanage door the magenta suit is more vibrant, but I have a feeling that all of the pensieve scenes are going to have a kind of black and white thing going on to make them extra creepy.  Which I guess is ok from an artistic point of view, but from a rabid HP fan point of view, it sucks!!  I also really hope that they just truncated that scene for the teaser, because a lot of important information comes from that scene.  (Please see my pet peeve post about Bad Adaptations.)

So, here’s the teaser for the next Harry Potter movie which is due out November 21st.  That means I have about four and a half months to get the baby eating enough solids, so that I can sneak out to see the movie without her going hungry in Granny’s care.

Explore posts in the same categories: Entertainment

One Comment on “Tease Me with the Half-Blood Prince”

  1. Kelly Says:

    I think the worst part about Michael Gambon is that he is such a great actor. I thought he was genius in Wives and Daughters. But he just doesn’t work as Dombledore, or he’s getting bad direction. I just don’t see the hippy Dumbledore.

    I can’t wait either, even if it’s going to be terrible. I always think that THIS time, it will be the perfect movie . . .


Leave a Reply

