Seuss Therapy

Earlier today DD#2 discovered our copy of Green Eggs and Ham and asked me to read it to her.  This was my favorite Dr. Seuss book as a child; I always thought The Cat in the Hat was highly over-rated.  The Sneeches is my second favorite.  And I really like The Lorax, of course, and How the Grinch Stole Christmas.  A new favorite that I discovered just before my oldest was born is There’s a Wocket in My Pocket; it’s just wonderfully inane.

So, I’m sitting down to read Green Eggs and Ham with DD#2 (and DD#3 who is pretty much attached to me at all times), and I start doing a gruff voice for the guy who keeps refusing to eat the green eggs and ham.  (Does he have a name?)  The more I read of the story the more I started putting different frustrated, angry, and exasperated tones in my voice.  After a while, it started to feel kind of cathartic.  I could yell and rant and rave and spill out all of those emotions and entertain my children (and not in the “Ha! Ha!  Doesn’t Mommy look funny when she is having nervous break down and crying hysterically?”  kind of way).

I’m beginning to think that maybe I should pull that book out to read more often.  Maybe once a week will help get out some of that pent up negativity.  If the older two don’t want to hear it, I can always read it to the baby.  Until she gets mobile, she’s my prisoner.  Maybe that will help me keep my cool when one of the girls is spilling stuff everywhere, another one is screaming over a non-issue, and the baby is crying that annoying cry that only really young babies make.

Of course, I know some of you are just shocked that the baby-wearing, breastfeeding, co-sleeping, homeschooling stay-at-home mama of three could have so much rage trapped inside her.  Just imagine how much worse it would be if I wasn’t a baby-wearing, breastfeeding, co-sleeping, homeschooling stay-at-home mama.

Explore posts in the same categories: Books, Parenting

2 Comments on “Seuss Therapy”

  1. Kelly Says:

    Another one good for this is Alexander and the Terrible, Horrible, No Good, Very Bad Day. Matt and I say ” . . . even in Australia” a lot from that book.

  2. Laura Witten Says:

    Kelly’s right – I remember that book from when i was a child – loved it! Unfortunately my child isn’t too into reading and refuses Dr. Seuss. He is forced to choose a book each evening from his overflowing shelves, and after a bit of a fuss we usually end up reading Thomas the Train, Clifford the big red dog or, more recently, some Habitat for Humanity books they have published for kids. He likes those b/c of the hammers. 🙂


Leave a Reply

