Diamonds and Pearls

As I was trudging through the grocery store Sunday, “Diamonds and Pearls” by Prince came on over the store speakers. I couldn’t help but chuckle to myself as I recalled a cold January evening many years ago. I was fourteen-years-old, and I was wandering around awkwardly at the first mixer of the new high school semester. A boy I had never met before came up and asked me to dance. He led me the two feet to the dance floor/mosh pit and we began to zombie dance to “Diamonds and Pearls”, a big hit at the time. It was my first time dancing with a boy out of choice, not requirement.

I think we danced together a few more times that night before Chad and I exchanged phone numbers. We went out on a few dates over the next few weeks before he broke up with me. At the time he gave me some lame excuse, but many years later I learned that many of his friends who I knew from grade school had been harassing him about me. Of all of the girls in the mixer, he had chosen the biggest nerd that they knew. I also found out that I at least had won him a bet, because I had agreed to dance with him before the rest of that same group of friends had found partners.

I can’t quite ever think of Chad without a little bit of pity and annoyance with him and real bitterness about why we broke up. He didn’t break my heart or anything; we had never even kissed in our brief courtship. But when I think about that night in the mixer and hear that song, I can’t help but crack up a little bit, too. It was just one of those lame “big teenage moments”.

Explore posts in the same categories: Uncategorized

One Comment on “Diamonds and Pearls”

  1. Erin Says:

    I have one of those too! Every Rose Has Its Thorn (Poison) and my first crush Randy!!


Leave a Reply

