Don’t You Take My Sunshine Away…

I am still adjusting to the time change.  I keep thinking it is later in the day than it really is.  It’s hitting me particularly hard this year, and I don’t know why.  Maybe it’s because Daylight Savings Time was extended this year.  As far as I am concerned, Daylight Savings Time could last all year long.  I am not looking forward to it getting dark before 5:00.  All that darkness starts to get to me after awhile.  I could never live at the North or South Pole; I’d go crazy.

On the plus side, I wasn’t nearly as distraught about the baby deciding to wake up at 7:15 in the morning today as I would have been two days ago.  I kept thinking, “Well, it’s really 8:15.”  I don’t know if that proves that my issues with getting up early in the morning are all in my head, or if my body just does better if it sleeps in until past 8:00 Central Daylight Savings Time.  Maybe it’s a little bit of both.

I did linger in bed and try to get the baby back to sleep for about 30 minutes, and then DD#2 noticed that we were awake.  So we all headed downstairs at about 8:00.  And I feel like I have gotten quite a bit accomplished today.  Like most days when I get up and moving around 8:00, things just seem to run smoother as long as I don’t get sucked into the internet.

So, I think it’s time to bite the bullet and as long as I get to bed before midnight start setting the alarm for 8:15.  (I’ll give myself until 8:00 to wake up naturally.)  Then no matter how the kids or I have slept through the night or how well the two in the bed with me are sleeping, I will actually get up out of bed by 8:15.  I know it will be hard to tear myself away from between those warm and snuggly little bodies, especially as the mornings get colder, but it’s what I really should do.  And I really have to limit my internet time in the morning and save it for the afternoon lull.

That’s my new resolution.  In the meantime, I’m going to celebrate that I almost have my laundry for the week finished and enjoy a walk in the sunshine with my girls while we still have some.  Sunshine and girls.

Explore posts in the same categories: Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

