Mexican Dinner

The other day it was time for a little batch cooking. I don’t do that much, but one thing I batch cook is hamburger. We don’t eat a lot of it at home. My oldest never thinks that home-made hamburgers are as good as fast food, and my middle daughter doesn’t like hamburger at all. So, for what few things I use hamburger in I find it much easier to brown a whole two-pound package seasoned with onion and garlic powders. Then I freeze it by the cup.

One cup of hamburger is perfect when I’m rushed or lazy for whipping up some quesadillas and tacos. This recipe is quick and easy to fix. Besides the defrosted hamburger, I take a bag or half a bag of shredded cheddar and sprinkle in some chili, onion, and garlic powders. Then I brush some olive oil on one side of two flour tortillas per quesadilla.  I lay one tortilla oil-side down on a griddle, sprinkle a handful of cheese, and place another tortilla oil-side up on top of the cheese. Then I brown it lightly on each side making a tasty cheese quesadilla for DD#2. DD#1 eats hers with a little defrosted hamburger sprinkled with the cheese. I use a pizza cutter to slice the quesadillas.

I tend to prefer tacos to quesadillas, so I cut a pita in half with the pizza cutter. Then I fill each half with cheese, hamburger, and more cheese. Next I nuke them for about 45 seconds in the microwave. As a finishing touch, I add some salsa. I can often prep this while one of the quesadillas is cooking on the griddle. Sometimes I just throw some hamburger and cheese in a bowl. I microwave it for thirty seconds, mix in some salsa, and eat it with tortilla chips.

For the most part, I am trying to break away from Hamburger/Tuna Helper.  However, I’ve found that a little defrosted hamburger works really well for that as well.  Like I said, DD#2 doesn’t like hamburger, so I make the Helper with out the meat.  (Worked for Randy Quaid in Lampoon’s Vacation.)  Then after I spoon her a big plate-full I mix in some warmed up hamburger for me and my oldest.  This is much easier then having to dig through cheesy noodles picking out little pieces of meat.

Explore posts in the same categories: Favorite Recipes

Leave a Reply

