Vegetable Soup

I’ve been thinking about it for a few weeks, but tonight I dusted off my recipe for vegetable soup.  I think I got the basic recipe off of allrecipes.com, but I tweeked it to fit my peculiar likes and dislikes.  For instance, I don’t like onions but I like the flavor they lend, so I use onion powder instead.  I added a little sugar to make it taste a little more similar to Campbell’s Vegetarian Vegetable.  I also throw in some macaroni to make it a little more hardy.

I lived off of this stuff when I was pregnant with my last child.  (I always crave tomato stuff when I’m pregnant, so the V-8 juice in the recipe hit the spot.)  And the tad of black pepper adds a little kick without giving me indigestion.  It’s also a very quick and easy recipe for the cooking-impaired like me.  I usually cook up a big pot, refrigerate it, and heat it up a bowl at a time through the week.

So, may I present my recipe for Vegetable Soup.

1 large potato, peeled and diced

1 ½ c. water

½ c. frozen carrots

½ Tbsp onion powder

¼ tsp pepper

1 tsp salt

½ tsp sugar

1 c. frozen green beans

2 c. V-8 juice

½ c. frozen peas

1 8.5 oz can of corn (juice in)

½ tsp Italian seasoning

¼ tsp garlic powder

2 handfuls of macaroni

1 bay leaf

  1. Put first three ingredients in pot and turn on stove to medium heat.
  2. Add in other ingredients ending with macaroni and bay leaf.
  3. Cover and simmer on low ten to fifteen minutes or until macaroni is tender.
  4. Discard bay leaf before serving.
Explore posts in the same categories: Favorite Recipes

Leave a Reply

