Tiffany’s Zucchini Bread

A long time ago I worked with Tiffany, who introduced me to zucchini bread.  I loved her bread so much that she gave me the recipe to me when I moved away.  This has become one of my favorite recipes, especially because it is open to different variations.

This is the original recipe Tiffany game me.  I usually omit the raisins and nuts.  This usually fills up two round cake pans or makes 18 muffins.  I could probably stretch the batter to make 24 muffins if I had another six-muffin pan.

3 large eggs

2 c. sugar

1 c. oil

1 tsp. baking soda

1 tsp. baking powder

1 tsp. salt

½ c. raisins (optional)

2 tsp. cinnamon

2 c. shredded zucchini

1 tsp. vanilla

½ c. chopped nuts (optional)

3 cups plain flour

  1. Combine all ingredients, stirring in flour 1 cup at a time.
  2. Pour into greased and floured pan.
  3. Bake at 350 degrees for 35 minutes.

The first variation I tried was Pumpkin Bread.  Basically, I substitute one can of pumpkin for the zucchini.  And instead of 2 teaspoons of cinnamon, I add:

  • 1 tsp cinnamon
  • ½ tsp nutmeg
  • ¼ tsp ginger
  • ¼ tsp cloves

I’ve also substituted grated apple or carrot for the zucchini.  The bread is so good that I suspect that you could get away without adding any fruit or vegetable to it.  This has made me aware of just how much sugar goes into this recipe, so I’m starting to experiment with reducing the amount of sugar.  I just made it with 1 3/4 cup of sugar instead of 2 cups and couldn’t tell a difference, so next time I might try only using 1 1/2 cups of sugar.

I tried a few other healthy changes as well.  For the past few batches I’ve used a mix of white flour, wheat flour, and wheat germ as my flour (ratio of 5/2/1).  With this latest batch I also substituted a 4 oz. cup of natural applesauce for half of the cup of oil.  (The natural sugar of the applesauce may have offset the reduction of white sugar.)

So, while one muffin may have only slightly fewer grams of sugar than a pack of Swiss cake rolls, it should have a little more nutrition.  And did I mention that it is delicious??

Explore posts in the same categories: Favorite Recipes

One Comment on “Tiffany’s Zucchini Bread”

  1. barboo77 Says:

    i like it it sounds good yum!


Leave a Reply

