March 2009 Reading List

  1. 100 Top Picks for Homeschool Curriculum by Cathy Duffy:  I originally read this about two years ago, so I just kind of perused it this time.  I though that it had learning style quiz, but I must have confused it with another book.  I did get a few ideas, and I often check stuff out on the corresponding website.
  2. Amazing Grace: A Vocabulary of Faith by Kathleen Norris:  Similar in style to her book The Cloister Walk, this big collection of short essays discusses her personal and academic experiences with various Christian terminology.
  3. 5-Minute Face by Carmindy:  As a fan of TLC’s What Not to Wear, I decided to check out this book of make-up tips from the show’s make-up stylist, Carmindy.  I need all the help I can get since I spend most of my time looking pasty and half-dead.
  4. For Better…Forever by Gregory K. Popcak:  Since hubby and I celebrated our 9th wedding anniversary this month, I figured that it never hurts to brush up on a few tips to keep love alive using this “Catholic Guide to Lifelong Marriage”.
  5. Lady Susan, The Watsons, and Sanditon by Jane Austen:  This volume contains three unpublished/unfinished works by Jane Austen.  Although Lady Susan is technically finished,  one can tell that Jane just kind of slapped an ending on it.  I wish that she had gone back to flesh it out more rather than just abandoning it.  It was a slap in the face when The Watsons ended so abruptly, as I was really getting into it.  Sanditon is a little different than Austen’s other works, perhaps because it was written while she was dying.  I don’t know that I particulalry recommend this particular edition, but I recommend that any Jane Austen fan read these stories and dream about what might have been.
Explore posts in the same categories: Reading Lists 2009

Leave a Reply

