April 2009 Reading List

1.  Mr. Darcy’s Daughters by Elizabeth Aston:  This books was a re-read.  Faux sequels to Pride and Prejudice about these days, but I think that Aston’s are some of the best.  It really feels like an Austin novel, but with a bit more exposition about the customs of the day.

2. Bad Catholic’s Guide to Good Living by John Zmirak and Denise Matychowiak:  This is a comical look at the Catholic liturgical year with celebratory suggestions, recipes for foodies, and a bonus sections about the sacraments.

3.  Ten Sisters by Virginia Ruth Waggoner Rackley & sisters:  I just kind of picked this book up on the fly at the library.  This non-fiction book tells the story of the lives of ten sisters that were separated by the Illinois court system in the 1940’s.  Each sister has her own chapter with her own point-of-view, which seems neat in theory but ended up being tedious and confusing.  I didn’t finish all ten chapters.  It may have been better if the chapters had been arranged in birth order to make it easier to keep people straight and develop the story.

4.   Forever Princess by Meg Cabot:  This is the tenth and final book of the Princess Diaries series.  Fans of the movies might enjoy the books as long as you realize they are really separate entities and are not quite as G-rated.

5.  The Count of Monte Cristo by Alexander Dumas:  This classic proves the old adage “revenge is a dish best served cold”.

6.  Are You There, God?  It’s Me, Margaret by Judy Blume:  I actually don’t remember reading any Judy Blume as a child.  When I was eleven like Margaret, my friends weren’t talking about crushing on boys or getting our periods.  Of course, most of my friends at that age were boys.  I can totally see how the average girl between eleven and fourteen could relate to Margaret’s life;  I could have in 7th grade.  I really hope, though, that my daughters will not be able to do so for a variety of reasons.  Margaret’s religious quest is particularly interesting with the avid and opposing faiths of her grandparents and complete lack of interest in faith that her parents share.

7. Fertility, Cycles and Nutrition by Marilyn Shannon:  This is a book I’ve wanted to read ever since I received a NFP Home Study Course from the Couple to Couple League International as a gift four years ago.  It offers many tips for women trying to get their menstrual cycles have normal pattern as well as dealing with PMS , miscarriage, and other menstrual issues.  While the book repeats a lot of diet information I had already read other places, it has made me think again that zinc deficiency might be a recurring problem in my life.

8.  Know Your Declaration of Independence and the 56 Signers by George E. Ross:  It inspired its own post.

9.  Star Wars Outcast by Aaron Allston:  I have finally reached the point where I am no longer willing to shell out the money to read the latest Star Wars sequel book.  I usually only read those books that follow Han, Leia, and Luke after Return of the Jedi.  Let’s face it, though; the books are pretty much like watching a soap opera- very entertaining but usually lacking very deep themes or much re-readability.  To be honest, I am considering donating most of the ones I already own to the library system instead of having them clutter up my closet.

10.  The Year of Living Biblically by A.J. Jacobs:  Too much to say about this book in a small blurb.  Hope to give it a post of its own soon.

Explore posts in the same categories: Reading Lists 2009

2 Comments on “April 2009 Reading List”

  1. eljoe1235 Says:

    Am definitely interested in your thoughts on the Jacobs book. Looked interesting enough that I thought I might pick up a copy. Seems like some of the reviewers I read enjoyed it, and some didn’t.

  2. Kelly Says:

    I only read Are You There God, It’s Me Margaret about a dozen times between 5th and 7th grade.


Leave a comment