May 2009 Reading List

Let me start by saying that I just realized that I forgot to list a book that I read.  It’s The Baby Name Wizard by Laura Wattenberg.  Just like on her website Wattenburg studies trends in naming.  She has made a science of baby naming, especially when it comes to coming up with sibling names.  If we ever have a fourth, I am totally checking this book out again.  It’s got a little different feel than the average baby-name book, and we had a really hard time naming our third daugther.

So now for May….

1.  Ransom My Heart by Mia Thermopolis (w/ Meg Cabot):  This is the romance novel written by the lead character of The Princess Diaries.  Modern romance novels are not usually my thing, but I was intrigued to read Princess Mia’s senior project.

2.  84 Charing Cross Road by Helene Hanff:  I never realized that the wonderful move was based on a wonderful book.

3.  How the States Got Their Shapes by Mark Stein:  This book offered a really interesting way to look at American history.  It really made me look at the states in new ways, and it also helped me to get a better grasp of the colonial situation.  Although, the book did start to get rather repetitive after awhile.

4Discover Your Child’s Learning Style by Mariaemma Willis and Victoria Kindle-Hodson:  This book is a really great tool for any parent, but especially for the homeschooling parent.  I hope to write a fuller review/account of this book soon.

5.  Harry Potter and the Half-Blood Prince by J.K. Rowling:  I picked this up off the home book shelf in between trips to the library.  I figured it would be worth re-reading in preparation for the upcoming movie.  HBP will always hold a special place in my heart, because it was the first Harry Potter book that I anxiously anticipated and for which I made a prediciton list.

Explore posts in the same categories: Reading Lists 2009

One Comment on “May 2009 Reading List”

  1. Cable Says:

    A prediction list huh? Mind sharing some of your predictions versus what actually happened?


Leave a Reply

