Harry Potter and the Half-Blood Who? (No spoilers)

I don’t know why I go to see Harry Potter movies when I am bound to be disappointed.  To dramatize each book properly would take a 10-hour mini-series.  There are just too many sub-plots, too many mysteries, and just too much great stuff to squeeze into two hours.  When I learned that they were going to split the Deathly Hallows book into two movies, I felt optimistic, but after watching the movie version of The Half-Blood Prince I am not so sure.  After seeing how much they have chopped out and condensed in the past three movies, I am wondering if the screenwriters, producers, etc may have painted themselves into certain corners that they are going to have a hard time getting out of without significantly altering parts of the book.  Although, I am encouraged by looking over the cast list for HP and the Deathly Hallows: Part I. Ciaran Hinds has been cast as Aberforth, which is awesome!

I don’t want to give away any details for those who haven’t had a chance to see HBP yet; I just want to make some general observations.  There were certain parts I really enjoyed, mostly scenes directly from the book.  There were things in which the mystery was completely sucked out.  There were some seemingly significant points that were completely over-looked.  And as has been the trend, there were unnecessary, extra scenes whose time could have been used instead for a scene from the actual book.  I HATE seemingly unnecessary changes.

I’m beginning to sympathize with those who hate Steve Kloves as the screenwriter.  Of the last three movies, I think I liked the one that he didn’t write the most.  He does seem to want to make Hermione the co-star and Ron kind of dumb statue.  I still don’t like Michael Gambon as Dumbledore, but at least they softened him up a little bit in this one.  Although one comical moment was when Dumbledore was drinking the potion in the cave and my husband compared the reaction to what he gets from drinking a Mr. Misty too fast.

I always wonder what a non-HP reader thinks of the movies.  There is always so much missing I wonder if they can even understand half of what is going on, or if they are seeing a completely different movie than I am.  I am sure that I will go see Deathly Hallows parts 1 and 2.  But I am seriously considering selling my DVD’s of the first five movies and not buying anymore.  I don’t want to risk my children growing up thinking that is all there is to Harry Potter.

Explore posts in the same categories: Entertainment

Leave a Reply

