November 2009 Reading List

1.  Sense and Sensibility by Jane Austen:  And the award for the biggest bitch goes to……  That’s a real toss up in this classic Austen novel.  I had forgotten how many unlikable characters there are:  Fanny Dashwood, Mrs. Ferrars, and Lucy Steele.  And while Elinor is obviously held up as the model sister in contrast to Marianne, the rash and impudent one, I couldn’t help pondering how in some ways Marianne is the more honest of the two.  She just kind of tells it like it is and has a low threshold for the assinine, which I admire.

2.  The Midwife by Jennifer Worth:  This is an amazing memoir of a young midwife in 1950’s England who worked under the direction of Anglican nuns in slums and poor Cockney neighborhoods.  My only gripe was that it was way too short.  I wanted to know more about the author’s experiences before, after, and during.

3. Discipline That Lasts a  Lifetime by Ray Guarendi:  I thought this was a really good little book about disciplining kids.  He makes a lot of good points about consistency while still being realistic.  I am seriously thinking about using some of his “writing as punishment” ideas.

4.  Buffy the Vampire Slayer:  Portal Through Time by Alice Henderson:  Everyone needs a little fluff from time to time.  This was a quick grab from the teen section at the library that fulfilled its purpose of being entertaining without straining my brain at all.

5.  The DaVinci Deception by Mark Shea:  I was looking for a different book by Mark Shea and came across this and figured what the heck.  I knew The DaVince Code was full of crap all ready, but I felt like seeing it all spelled out.  I think my particular favorite is when Dan Brown asserts that the name “Mona Lisa” is an anagram for the whole mystery devised by Leonardo DaVavinci, when the painting wasn’t even called that until years after his death.

6.  Avalon High by Meg Cabot:  Have I mentioned before how much fun I have reading Meg Cabot’s books?  They are just fun.

7.  Catholicism for Dummies by Rev. John Trigilio, Jr. and Rev. Kenneth Brighenti:  This is a great little reference book about Catholicism that’s not quite as overwhelming as the Catechism.  I am assuming that the authors doctorates are in theology rather than biblical archaeology, though, since they hold to the tradition that Matthew was the first Gospel written when most scholars agree that Mark was most likely written first and used as a template for Matthew.  There are many passages that I thought beautifully explained aspects of the Catholic faith that are often misunderstood.  And I’m glad that we decided to pick up a copy of our own.

*I started to read Pride and Prejudice and Zombies by Jane Austen and Seth Grahame-Smith, but I just couldn’t get into it.  It wasn’t due to any sort of  snobbiness or complaint that Grahame-Smith “ruined the book”.  I think it’s a neat and fun concept.  I think what it boiled down to was that I was just not in the mood to read Pride and Prejudice in any form.

Explore posts in the same categories: Books, Reading Lists 2009

2 Comments on “November 2009 Reading List”

    • barboo77 Says:

      I’ll have to add that to my prospective reading list. I’m all about babies, midwives, and such…if you couldn’t tell. 😉


Leave a Reply

