7 Quick Takes (v. 10)

7_quick_takes

1.  This is probably my third or fourth attempt at putting together 7 Quick Takes, v. 10.  Seems likes something always happensed:  things were so busy I couldn’t get the post finished, I couldn’t get it posted in time, or Jen canceled 7 Quick Takes for the week.  So here goes…

2  I’m at 12 weeks today, and I’m thinking that some of the extreme first semester exhaustion may be  waning.  I am very hungry; I don’t remember being this hungry this early with my other pregnancies.  I find that I need a fourth meal around 8:00, like a lunch type-meal but not a little snack.  I am also craving tons of fast food/restaurant food.  I can’t decide if this is because I wouldn’t have to cook it or because it would taste so much better than anything I can cook.

3.  It’s been one week since I moved the two big girls into the same bed (kicking our four-year-old out of our room and family bed).  I find that the key to success is really dealing with the younger one, Piper.  I need to put her to bed when she is tired but not over-tired, and once I can get her to sleep then I can move on with my night.  But that’s not always easy if she’s not really tired or if her big sister is in a mischievous mood and insists on touching her, making humming noises to disturb her, or generally being obnoxious.

4.  I’ve started going into homeschooling planning mode.  We only have two weeks left in our semester (we follow my husbands teaching schedule).  I don’t plan to completely quit for the Christmas Break, though, just go even lighter than usual.  I think it’s good for my oldest daughter to have a little bit of something to do every day.  It makes her appreciate her free time more.  But, I really need to start making plans for the Spring semester; my husband goes back to work on January 19th.

5.  I actually enjoy planning out a semester.  It’s a lot of work, but it’s kind of like putting together a puzzle.  The mental stimulation of planning is one of the appealing things of homeschooling to me as the teaching parent.  And I like that I do it in semester blocks.  It keeps the process from being over-whelming and also keeps the actual curriculum flexible based on the changing needs of our family.  And then I get to do it at least three times a year (fall, spring, and summer semesters).

6.  My grade school class is having a reunion this weekend back home in Louisville.  It’s times like this when it sucks living so far away.  It’s one of those strange things, though, because when I graduated from grade school I couldn’t stand most of those people.  I went on to attend high school with many of the girls, and as the years pass it’s become easier to put things in perspective as I realize that we were all hormonal little shits taking our insecurities out on each other.  Even though I won’t be there Saturday night it’s cool that we are able to share portions of our lives on Facebook, which would have been unimaginable when we graduated in 1991.

7.  Happy New Year by the way.  The Catholic liturgical calendar rolled over on November 29th with the First Sunday of Advent.  I love Advent:  the purple decorations and vestments, the lighting of the Advent Wreath, and the music that is only played at this time of the year.    I’ll leave you with one of my favorites of the Advent season.

Explore posts in the same categories: 7 Quick Takes

2 Comments on “7 Quick Takes (v. 10)”

  1. colleen Says:

    I have only done 7 Quick takes a few times. I don’t always have enough to put in the post so now I write it over a period of a few weeks, thanks to someone else’s suggestion. I was drawn to your blog title since I am a chocoholic! I love advent, too and O Come, O Come Emmanuel is also a favorite! Advent blessings!

    • barboo77 Says:

      I normally start mine by Tuesday or Wednesday or I know I won’t get it done. I like to give all my posts at least a night to sit, too, so I can proofread more effectively before I post (although I still miss errors). I’ve actually had completely different ones written up only to not publish them and then start over the next week. I am indeed a chocoholic, except when I’m pregnant…hmmm, I wonder if there’s a connection. LOL. Advent blessings to you as well!!


Leave a Reply

