December 2009 Reading List

1.  The Case for Christ by Lee Strobel:  This book follows Lee Strobel, a journalist, as he interviews some of the top Biblical scholars and others, to answer his questions about the veracity of the “Jesus story” from historical, archaeological, and even psychological aspects.  It’s a really interesting book.  I found the section about the validity of the New Testament as historical documents particularly illuminating.  My only concern was that rather than talking to those who take the anti-Christian perspective he just kind of quotes them to the defenders.  I suppose, though, that actually interviewing them would have changed the concept of the book.  The book was written after his conversion but is based on his doubts before his conversion.

2.  The Shadow of the Bear by Regina Doman:  This is a retelling of the fairy tale “Snow White and Rose Red” set in modern times with a Catholic bent.  It’s an entertaining enough read, although not quite as original as Gail Carson Levine’s various retold fairy tales.  I plan to read the sequels, though.

3.  The Exploits and Adventures of Miss Alethea Darcy by Elizabeth Aston:  I grabbed this Pride & Prejudice “sequel” off my shelf for a quick reread.  It follows Darcy’s and Elizabeth’s youngest daughter as she escapes from a disastrous marriage.  I love these books, although I think I found a continuity error in this one with one of her later books.

4.  Serenity: Those Left Behind by Joss Whedon, Brett Matthews, & Will Conrad:  I’m not really a fan of “graphic novels”.  I tend to find them unfulfilling.  However, this is the format that Joss Whedon has chosen to tell the continuing sagas of some of his beloved television shows.  So, being a fan of Firefly I decided to check this out.  I think they totally captured the characters.

5.  Serenity, Volume 2:  Better Days by Joss Whedon, Brett Matthews, and & Will Conrad:  Ditto.

6.  The Midwife’s Tale by Gretchen Moran Laskas:  This is a fictional story of an Appalachian’s woman experiences as a young midwife in the early part of the 20th century.  Her personal and professional story are both intriguing and sad as she loves a man who doesn’t love her and she must make tough moral decisions.  Parts of it reminded me of stories from my mother’s side of the family, who came from a similar area.

End of Year Wrap-Up

*I read 90 books in 2009

*I averaged 7.5 books per month.

*The largest number of books I read in one month was 11 (June).

*The least number of books I read in one month was 4 (September).

*I read more books during the first six months of the year (52) than the second six months (38).

*I’ve been debating whether I want to continue keeping track of my reading habits into 2010, but I think I would like to see how next year stacks up to this year.

*I must admit when I first started that I thought I might break 100; I was only ten away.  Maybe next year.

Explore posts in the same categories: Books, Reading Lists 2009

Leave a Reply

