I Refuse to Potty Train My Toddler

Katie just hit the 20-month mark.  For the past few weeks, she has pretended to use the little potty that doubles as a step-stool.  She’s also figured out how to pull her pants down.  As a result, I am starting to get flashbacks of various parenting books with the term “window of opportunity”.  I’m starting to feel that old pressure to potty-train by age 2.  But I’m not going to do it.  I WON’T!!  I WON’T!! I WON’T!!

The top ten reasons I refuse to potty-train my toddler right now:

1.  Didn’t I just go through this whole thing with Piper?  (It’s been just about a year since she said goodbye to diapers forever.)

2.  I don’t want to have to keep track of when the last time was that Katie peed.  I can’t even keep track of how long it has been since I peed at this point.

3.  I don’t want to have to walk Katie to the bathroom every 30 minutes “just in case”.  I have better things to do with my time.

4.  I don’t want to struggle to get her on the potty when she loses interest in it or has other things she would rather do.

5.  I don’t want to sit there for ten minutes while she does absolutely nothing.  Again I have better things to do with my time.

6. I don’t want to get sucked into the whole pull-ups vs. cloth panties debate.

7.  I don’t want to have to change a pull-up every hour because they don’t keep urine away from skin as well as diapers and tend to lead to horrible diaper rash if left unattended.

8.  I don’t want to have to clean up pee puddles everywhere.  The milk and and water puddles I find all around the house are bad enough.

9.  I am pregnant and do not need the stress of potty-training for all of the reasons above.

10.  I believe that one day when Katie is closer to three, or even slightly past it, she will be old enough to really understand what it means to use the potty regularly and will choose to do so with minimal effort on my part before or after.  So until such time, I have better things to do than potty-train my toddler.

Explore posts in the same categories: Parenting

2 Comments on “I Refuse to Potty Train My Toddler”

  1. Kelly Says:

    Hitting the like button.

  2. morethanamom2four Says:

    In my experience, my kids always regressed in potty training after the next baby was born. It will probably go a lot smoother and faster if you wait until after the baby is born anyway!


Leave a Reply

