7 Quick Takes (v. 14)

1.  There are a lot of people who post links for 7 Quick Takes every week.  I obviously can not read all of them, but I do feel a sense of obligation to try to read a few.  I decided to start by picking which ever links match the numbers of my birth date.  There’s not always a #77, but it always seems extra cool when there is.  Once I’ve hit those three then I glance at a few more based on my time, if I recognize the names from other blogs/forums, or if they just seem to have a cool name for their blog.

2.  The big girls accidently left the gate at the top of the stairs open the other day while I was downstairs getting something.  It could have been a disastrophe (a term my oldest coined around age 3), but thankfully Katie (20 months) had the presence of mind to sit down on her butt and scoot down the stairs one at a time.  This is a skill that she likes to practice everytime we go downstairs now.  Sometimes it is annoying when I am in a hurry, but on the other hand I enjoy the fact that I don’t have to carry her heavy butt up and down the stairs every time, especially since I’m carrying someone else on the inside who keeps getting bigger and bigger.

3.  Tee-ball sign ups were last Saturday even though the season doesn’t start until April.  This year we were filling out the forms for two.  Bailey moves up to the Coach Pitch division, and Piper starts in Little Tees (kind of a pre-tee ball program).  This will be our first time doing Little Tees, so it will be a learning experience.  It is usually described as “organized chaos”.

For the past two years that Bailey’s been playing we’ve been able to work with the same coach.  We weren’t sure if we were going to be able to keep the Dream coaching Team together because both of his boys wanted him to coach each of their teams, and they’re in different divisions this year that could have overlapping games.  But they worked it out, and we get Coach Jack back.  Rick is going to assistant coach for both girls’ teams this season since they play on different nights, but next year he’ll have to make the same decision.  I can’t imagine how much harder it is going to get once we have three playing ball.  We have until the 2013 season to worry about that, though.

4. Piper started dance classes this week, at her request.  She’s just about the same age that Bailey was when Bailey took tap/ballet/tumbling.  Thankfully I was able to dig up Bailey’s old tap shoes, ballet shoes, and tights and they all fit Piper perfectly  The best thing about the studio we go through is that they only do 9-week sessions at a time instead of 18-weeks like everyone else.  18 weeks just seems like too much of a commitment for to expect of parents of preschoolers.  I’ve made an executive decision not to bother with the recital, though.  For one thing, the extra fees for costumes and such are pricey.  Secondly, I’m not sure that I want to parade my young child on stage yet.  Third, I don’t want to have sit through three hours of watching all the other kids perform just to see mine on-stage for three minutes while dealing with two other children and being 8-months pregnant.

5.  I’ve started going through childbirth books–some of my old favorites like Baby Catcher and some new ones I’ve been pulling off the internet or from the appendices of my favorites.  I’ve kind of started doing some of my pregnancy exercises (tailor sitting, pelvic rolls, cat/cow yoga pose) to loosen some of those baby-pushing muscles, but I need to get in the habit of doing them one or more times every day.  The biggest trick is making sure that little people aren’t crawling through my legs or hopping on my back while I am trying to exercise.

6.  I keep praying that we will get two or three inches of snow on Wednesday.  I really want just enough to safely coat the five layers of ice on my driveway, so that I can put the garbage out without slipping and cracking my head open.  I tried driving some of the garbage and recycle (especially the recycle) down, but I can’t fit everything in the back of the van without multiple trips.  The garage is starting to look like a landfill.

7. Rick’s semester starts back on Tuesday, and we’ll be starting our spring homeschooling semester on Monday.  We have been doing a really light homescholing load over the winter break, but it will be nice to get back in the swing of things.  Between the holidays and dh being off for four weeks, we (especially I) have slipped into some lazy habits.  I’ve been wasting a lot of time on the computer when other things could or should be done.  It seems sometimes that all of this lazy makes me feel more tired, more grouchy, and more blah instead of more relaxed and rested.  I’ve realized that sometimes you need these lazy periods to appreciate the importance of work for keeping one healthy, wealthy, and wise.

Explore posts in the same categories: 7 Quick Takes

Leave a Reply

