March 2010 Reading List

1.  The Tower and the Hive by Anne McCaffrey:  This is the fifth and final book in the series.  The Alliance military and scientists try to find ways to contain the Hivers to their planets and stop their genocidal expansion with the aid of  Thian and Rojer Lyon and  their Talented spouses, cousins, and friends.  Meanwhile, Zara Lyon tries to find a way to slow down procreation for their Mrdini allies who are overpopulating their own planets.  Then you have Laria Lyon coming into an unusual arrangement with her openly gay tower assistant.  So basically the book is about procreation and contraception and the third generation of the Gwyn-Raven-Lyon clan starting their own families.  I thought this book was way better than the previous two in the series, but as a practicing Catholic again I’m struggling with some of the themes in light of my concerns about abortion and contraception.

2.  Nice Girls Don’t Live Forever by Molly Harper:  Another fun, fun book, although I could do without the sex scenes.

3.  New Moon by Stephenie Meyer:  As I read the second book in the Twilight series, I couldn’t help thinking about how they may have changed things in the screenplay for the movie since Edward is largely absent from the novel except for the beginning and the end.

4.  With God in Russia by Walter J. Ciszek:  This is the memoir of an American priest who was wrongly convicted of being a Vatican spy in Communist Russia.  It is an interesting look at the inner-workings of the prison system of Communist Russia and one man’s faith in God in the face of extreme physical, mental, and emotional hardship.

5.  Eclipse by Stephenie Meyer:  This was as entertaining as the previous two books in the Twilight series.  The most interesting aspect to me is Bella’s perspective as a child of divorce who has been indoctrinated by her mother against early marriage.

6.  All the Weyrs of Pern by Anne McCaffrey:  I wanted something light, mentally and physically, to possibly read on the plane, so I grabbed this out of my personal collection.  This is the second-to-last book chronologically in McCaffrey’s Dragonriders of Pern series, and it still makes me cry whenever I get to the last few pages even thought I’ve read the thing a million times.

7.  Breaking Dawn by Stephenie Meyer:  I already knew a bit about Renesmee thanks to various posts about the names of Twilight on The Baby Name Wizard blog.  I do admire that the main characters waited until marriage before having sex.  But I thought the ending of the story was kind of anti-climatic.  I can totally see another connected series down the road that explores the relationship between Renesmee and Jacob; I am sure there is already tons of fan fiction to that effect.

Explore posts in the same categories: Reading Lists 2010

Leave a Reply

