April 2010 Reading List

1.  Brisingr by Christopher Paolini:  This is the third book in his Inheritance Trilogy.  I realized about half-way through that there was no way he was finishing up the series story by the end of that book.  I later learned that the author realized the same thing midway through writing it and started planning a fourth book.  The series is ok but not the greatest.  I think it had the wind sucked out of it by the universally panned movie version of the first book, Eragon.  I’ll probably go ahead and read the fourth book whenever it finally comes out just for closure.

2. A Midwife’s Story by Penny Armstrong and Sheryl Feldman:  This book recounts how Penny Armstrong became a midwife to the Amish and how her experiences with them changed her.  Some parts I found really interesting.  But I felt that the ending was very blunt and depressing.  It just felt like the book didn’t have much direction and cut off abruptly.

3.  Star Wars: Fate of the Jedi: Backlash by Aaron Allston:  This is the latest book in the post-movies expanded universe.  It was nice to see Luke, Han, and Leia working together again in a book even if for only a brief amount of time.  Fun, light reading.

4.  The Know-It-All by A.J. Jacobs:  I read about Jacobs experiment to “live Biblically” a few months ago.  This book is about his earlier experiment “to become the smartest man in the world” by reading the Encyclopedia Brittanica from A to Z.  It made me almost wish that I had a full set of traditional encyclopedias on hand for a little light reading and reference…not that I really even have room to keep such a thing.

5.  Labor of Love by Cara Muhlhahn:  Muhlhahn was a midwife featured in Ricki Lake’s awesome documentary about the dangers of childbirth in the hospital and the common misconceptions about homebirth, The Business of Being Born.  While I have no doubt that Muhlhahn is an excellent midwife, there are several things about her history and beliefs that would concern me if I were her patient.  This book made me aware of just how little I know about the history and beliefs of my own midwifes and wonder if I am better off not knowing as long as they continue to give me excellent care.

6.  All the Days of My Life (So Far) by Allison Sweeney:  I’ve passed this biography by the Days of Our Lives actress a billion times in the library with its hot pink cover and grabbed it on impulse.  She gives an interesting account of life on Days, but there is a lot of chapters devoted to her struggles with her weight.  She really writes it, though, as a response letter to all of her fans most common questions.  As a former Days fan, I found it interesting enough.

7.  The Masterharper of Pern by Anne McCaffrey:  I grabbed my well-worn copy of the biography of Masterharper Robinton for another reading in between trips to the library.  This is a sub-story of her Dragonriders of Pern series.

8.  The Scarlet Pimpernel by Emmuska Orczy:  Love, blackmail, danger, and intrigue revolving around the French Revolution.  It was a great read, even though I realized the identity of the Scarlet Pimpernel early on.  Although set in the late 18th century, the book was written in the early 20th century so the language isn’t overwhelming.  I plan to add more of Baroness Orczy’s works to my reading list.

Explore posts in the same categories: Reading Lists 2010

One Comment on “April 2010 Reading List”

  1. Kelly Says:

    My grandfather read the encyclopedia from cover to cover. Although it was a 1920’s version that was only 3 volumes.


Leave a Reply

