May 2010 Reading List

  1. David Copperfield by Charles Dickens:  This is only the second Dickens novel I’ve read.  I don’t really know why since I liked Great Expectations fairly well.  I had remembered watching a mini-series based on this book a few years ago, so I kind of remembered the main story.  Since it was published as a serial, it’s just a very long book; it took me about two weeks to get through.  I thought its insights into marriage were rather interesting and totally made it worth the time.  It may be a while, though, before I read anymore Dickens just because of the physical weight of his works may be too much to handle while nursing a newborn.
  2. Camille by Alexander Dumas:  I picked this up on impulse.  This slim volume tells the interesting story of a young man who falls in love with a dying French courtesan in the 1800s.  The book never really explained though why the color of her camellias changed from white to red five days of the month.  The only thing I can figure is that it was a signal to her lovers of either her menstrual period or her fertile period.
  3. Designing Your Own Classical Curriculum by Laura Berquist:  I was able to sit in on a talk by Mrs. Berquist at a local Catholic homeschooling conference recently.  For more information, look to this recent post about this book.
  4. Merrick by Anne Rice:  This was a re-read off of my shelves.  It is the first cross-over book between her Vampire and Mayfair Witches series.
  5. The League of the Scarlet Pimpernel by Baroness Emmuska Orczy.  This sequel to the Scarlet Pimpernel is a collection of short stories about his rescue of various victims of the French Revolution.
  6. The Politically Incorrect Guide to to Women, Sex, and Feminism by Carrie L. Lukas:  This book is a fairly good summary of all the books I’ve read recently about errors in sex education and feminist rhetoric.  In its attempts to be “unbiased”, though, I think it sometimes falls into the same “politically correct” trap it criticizes.  There are also some typos that are kind of distracting.
Explore posts in the same categories: Reading Lists 2010

Leave a Reply

