7 Quick Takes (v. 27)

1.  38 weeks.  My bag is pretty much packed, except for those things that can only go in last minute.  All the baby stuff is as ready as it’s going to be.  Now I’m just trying to keep up on laundry and cleaning.  I waddle more than walk, can feel the baby’s head pressing against my cervix and lower abdomen on a regular basis, and am basically really tired of being pregnant.

2.  I finished putting together a cheat sheet for my parents since they only visit a few times a year.  Pages include topics such as how to operate the television/DVD player, food restrictions/peculiarities, and how to handle bedtime routines (although, hopefully their daddy will be home for that).

3.  We’ve been spending way too much money on restaurants the past two weeks.  With our A/C non-operational, though, it was just too hot to cook, and it felt good to spend an hour in a cool place.  We also took trips to the library and IKEA just to get out of the sweltering house.

4.  Due to vent issues my dryer is unusable right now.  I had to resort to setting up a make-shift clothes-line on my back balcony.  It makes me feel very European.  I can’t help wondering how people air-dried their clothes like this on a regular basis without the aid of weather websites to check for rain.

5.  It’s been almost two weeks since I had the carpet and couch cleaned, and the living room still looks great.  It helps that I removed every single toy from downstairs before the cleaners came and never put them back.  A few things have trickled down only to be sent right back up to the playroom at the end of the day.  There have been a few smudges to the couch, but so far the carpet is still stain-free.  I know it won’t last forever, though.

6.  Yesterday I requested a ton of books through our library system.  I can’t decided if I’m stupid for doing this so close to my due date, resigned to the fact that I won’t go into labor until closer to my due date, or trying to tempt the Fates into starting my labor.  (Not that I really believe in the Fates, since I’m Catholic.)

7.  Last night Bailey’s coach pitch team won its first game this season.  Bailey hit the ball into the outfield all three times she stepped up to the plate (one went over the third baseman’s head).  She made several awesome throws from the pitcher’s mound and second base, earning her compliments from yet another dad for her strong and accurate arm.  Bailey even took the time to help the only other girl on the team choose the right bat to help her get her first hit.  We couldn’t be more proud of her talent or her heart right now.

Explore posts in the same categories: 7 Quick Takes

2 Comments on “7 Quick Takes (v. 27)”

  1. Kelly Says:

    I can’t help wondering how people air-dried their clothes like this on a regular basis without the aid of weather websites to check for rain.

    Repeat after me: Extra rinse cycle.

  2. Caitie Says:

    Eeeee! So excited for you! I’ll be praying! Can’t wait to hear about that baby!


Leave a Reply

