7 Quick Takes (v. 30)

1.  Sabrina is 12 days old today.  Just when I thought we were starting to get things together, she suddenly decided that she didn’t want to latch on right at about 4:00 am.  She would take two sucks and then stop and release.  And then cry and try to eat her fingers.  My milk let down twice, but I started to panic that there was something wrong with my milk supply.  Finally, after an hour and half she settled down and ate right, and we passed out on the couch for a few hours.

2.  Until the events of last night derailed things for me, we had a pretty good morning routine going.  Piper comes in to wake me around 8:00.  She, Sabrina, and I head downstairs where I turn on the computer and get Piper’s warm chocolate milk.  Then I go potty, eat a microwave breakfast, change Sabrina’s diaper, and sometimes unload/load the dishwasher.  Then at 9:00 I wake up Bailey and Katie, get Katie some breakfast, and settle on the couch to feed Sabrina.  Of course, the smoothness of the rest of the day is very hit or miss.  I don’t even want to talk about dinner.

3.  After our free trial period ended, we shelled out the $9 per month for a Netflix subscription.  It has been really nice, especially during this time of newborn transition.  The instant watch options are worth it even without the DVDs.   I watched all of Dollhouse Season 1, and now I’m starting on X-Files Season 1 (I always thought I would have liked that show if I had gotten in on the beginning.)  I’ve put a few things in the instant cue for the kids, including movies that we own.  It’s nice to be able to turn them on with a click of the Wii-mote from the couch instead of having to get up and mess with the DVD player.

4.  Yesterday I ran by Kohl’s.  My belly is pretty much gone which makes all of my maternity pants super baggy.  But I can’t get my regular pants (size 6) past my thighs.  So, I picked up a pair of draw-string sweat shorts and draw-string pajama pants in Medium and a pair of khaki capris in size 8.  It’s nice to have a few things that actually fit.

5.  I think I was up to 147 pounds at my last prenatal check-up.  I probably lost close to fifteen pounds of that, though, just by giving birth.  I always suspected that my healthiest body weight would be around 130 lbs.  So, I’m torn between not wanting to have to buy a new wardrobe and the desire to not lose anymore weight.  I also wonder how not being underweight (as I have become while I nursed my three older children) would effect the return of my fertility.

6.  In the end what I think or want in my weight situation is probably pointless.  My life is what it is, and I don’t really think any of the factors that lead me towards being extremely underweight while nursing will have really changed.  All I can do is try to keep eating breakfast and sneak double cheeseburgers when I’m out running errands; it really helped me put on the pregnancy weight this time around.

7.  I am so very, very tired.  There will definitely have to be a nap in my future, especially if I want to try to make it to Piper’s teeball game tonight.  Whenever they tell you to sleep when the baby sleeps, they obviously don’t realize how hard that is when you have three other children.  My next goal is to get Katie’s regular nap time back in the routine, so that I can maybe take a nap, too.

Explore posts in the same categories: 7 Quick Takes

2 Comments on “7 Quick Takes (v. 30)”


  1. I’m with you on how hard it is to nap with the baby when you have older children. My youngest is two, and I don’t miss those days of exhaustion at all. Even if you can’t get the extra rest, do make sure to take care of yourself and ask for help if you can.


Leave a Reply

