7 Quick Takes (v. 38)

1.  We’re seven days into the New Year.  So far I’ve managed to get dressed everyday before noon (Ok, I was five minutes late yesterday), read the daily scripture before anything else on the internet, curtail my cussin’ (I think), and save money by cooking from scratch.  I still need to work on spending more quality time with each child every day, updating the baby books, and being a better wife.

2.  In my defense, I have been slightly ill this week.  I’ve had a sore throat that seems to get worse at night and causes me to cough when I’m trying to sleep.  Other than being tired, I actually feel fine during the day.  I don’t know whether to be thankful that it’s not worse or extremely put out that I’m just sick enough to be annoying but not enough to warrant sympathy.  (I know I should be the former, but I’ve really been the latter.)

3.  We, as a family, decided we’re going to go ahead and move Bailey from the tee-ball league to the softball league.  A year ago we thought that Bailey would finish out all of her eligible years in the tee-ball league before moving on to softball or possibly baseball.  We also thought that we’d probably be involved with that league for the next nine years, with each of our children going through it.

However, it became apparent that Bailey enjoys playing ball for social reasons; she does not have a true love of the game of baseball.  We really feel that she will be happier on an all-girls team and have more opportunities to make some close girlfriends, which she wants more than anything in the world.  Also, Piper has an aversion to playing with all boys or using the tee, so starting out with coach pitch in the softball league appeals to her more than traditional tee-ball.

It will be bittersweet, though.  We’ve been with the same coach for three years now; we will miss working with him and his family.  The tee-ball league really helped us feel like part of a community for the first time since we had moved to Illinois.

4.  I took down the Christmas tree this morning.  It’s the first time that I’ve managed to keep it up through the 12 Days of Christmas.

5.  I’m doing some last minute tweaking to our Spring Semester.  I’ve been trying to figure out ways to keep Bailey occupied while I start working with Piper.  I think this might be a good time to try a daily reading period for her.  She probably won’t like it very much, but I don’t think that 15 minutes will kill her.

6. Sabrina is on the verge of crawling; she really gets up on all fours and tries to push off with her feet.  But she does manage to get around pretty well just by rolling and scooting.  I also felt a tiny tooth poking through the gum last night.  It’s hard to believe that she is almost 7 months old.

7.  Katie is so funny and so sweet (when she’s not driving us crazy by being 2).  We still sometimes can’t believe that we didn’t make her on purpose.

Explore posts in the same categories: 7 Quick Takes

Leave a Reply

