7 Quick Takes (v. 39)

1.   We’ve managed to survive Snowmageddon aka Thunder Snow aka the third worst snow storm to hit the Chicago area in 125 years.  We got between 18 and 22 inches (depending on the snow drift) around our house.

2.  Sabrina is a full-fledged crawler with two teeth now.  It’s hard to believe that she’ll be 8-months-old in a little more than a week. I officially put away all of the bouncy seats since she is so big now.

3.  I’m writing this on my brand new laptop.  We needed a third computer and I spend a lot of time now sitting outside gymnastics, so I decided that my own personal laptop would come in handy.  I’m still getting used to Windows 7 and newer editions of Word and Excel, though.

4.  We just finished our third week of homeschooling, and my first with two students.  Things have been moving really smoothly.  I think the three key moves have been trying to get up as close to 8:30 as possible, making sure we all get dressed at 9:30, and setting up that 15 minutes of silent reading for Bailey while I work with Piper.

5.  The 8:30 wake-up normally gives me time to sit down and snuggle with Katie while she watches a show and I drink my coffee.  She seems to really need that time in the morning, and then she is more willing to occupy herself during school time.

6.  We watched the Steve Martin Cheaper by the Dozen last week.  As these things go, that’s a pretty good family movie.  The pro-family theme as opposed to “children are accessories that come second to my career” theme in general society.  And I love how the parents object to their oldest adult daughter’s boyfriend sharing a room with her in their house because of the example for the younger kids.  We just got in Cheaper by the Dozen 2 to watch.

7.  Tomorrow night my husband has a very special date with two young women.  Every February our parks district hosts a Daddy & Daughter Date Night for dads with daughters ages 5 to 17.  This is Piper’s first time going and she has been counting down the days all week, and thankfully neither she nor Bailey seem too upset over having to share their date.  I can’t help but smile when I think about the date night in 2016 when Rick has four dates ages 5, 7, 10, and 13.

Explore posts in the same categories: 7 Quick Takes

2 Comments on “7 Quick Takes (v. 39)”

  1. Kelly Says:

    Have you seen Yours, Mine, and Ours will Lucille Ball? It’s a favorite of mine. The original Cheaper By the Dozen isn’t bad either.

    • barboo77 Says:

      I haven’t seen the Lucille Ball movie. I like the original Cheaper (and the books), but the kids won’t watch anything that looks too old.


Leave a Reply

