Reading List May 2011

1.  Financial Peace by Dave Ramsey:  This is the second time I’ve read this book, but I’m still not sure that I’m completely ready to implement the Ramsey plan even though I think very highly of it.

2.  Helena by Evelyn Waugh:  This small work of historical fiction takes a hypothetical look at the life of Helena, mother of Roman Emperor Constantine, and surmises about her search for the cross on which Jesus was crucified.  I think it is an interesting portrait of the Roman Empire in the late 4th and early 5th centuries, and the development of Christianity once it was no longer an underground, illegal religion.

3. Divorce Busting by Michele Weiner-Davis:  No two people can share a living space without getting on each other’s nerves some of the time.  This is triple true for married couples.  This is a great book with real, concrete suggestions for individuals/couples to help smooth over rough spots in their relationship.  It doesn’t go all psychoanalytical, but instead it offers an approach that would seem counter-intuitive but actually works.

4.  The Woman in White by Wilkie Collins:  Well, the blurb on the back of my copy should receive an award.  I think it was better than the book itself.  I think it had a great premise, but its execution was a little long and drawn out.  And after reading the back cover, I expected it to be a grander drama than it really was.  I tried to take into account that it was originally published in small chunks by Wilkie Collins’ good chum Charles Dickens, but it was a bit of a slog to get through.  The only thing that kept me reading was the misplaced idea that something was about to happen.

5.  Girls Will Be Girls by JoAnn DeakI was familiar with some of this material from reading Michael  Gurian’s The Wonder of Girls.  Deak offers some interesting insights to the emotional and social development of girls from her time as a school principal and psychologist.  Again, though, I wish there was more research about homeschooled kids and if they follow the same patterns that are taken for granted as normal for kids who are stuck with the same same-aged peer group day after day and year after year.  It did give me some food for thought about being over-critical and being to keen to offer suggestions to “fix” my girls’ problems rather than sitting back to just listen and think things through themselves.

6.  When Homeschooling Gets Tough by Diana Johnson:  This slim little value is a great inspirational gem for homeschoolers with tips on preventing burn-out before it happens by figuring out our priorities (in homeschooling and life) and not expecting perfection in everything.  I realized that I had been slipping into the mindset of trying to teach my kids everything, a sure recipe for burn-out.

7.  Homeschooling 101 by Mark and Christine Field:  This is kind of your typical homeschooling instruction manual.  I got a few new resources to consider but not much else.

Explore posts in the same categories: Reading Lists 2011

Leave a Reply

