Reading List June 2011

1.  The Unschooling Unmanual edited by Jan and Jason Hunt:  This book about unschooling made me stop to think about whether or not I had Bailey’s schooling too structured.  But then I decided that I didn’t, and Bailey still has a lot of free time to explore her interests.  I think unschooling is great to a degree, but I don’t really believe that kids will study or soak up everything they need to know without any kind of push.

2.  How to Flirt with a Naked Werewolf by Molly Harper:  This is the first of a new series by fellow WKU-alum Molly Harper.  I didn’t like it quite as much as her vampire books since it’s not set in Kentucky, but it was still a fun read.

3.  Life Skills for Kids by Christine M. Field:  See previous post about this book.

4.  A Charlotte Mason Education by Catherine Levinson:  I really admire the Charlotte Mason method, but it would just not be a good fit for our family.  Read aloud has usually not worked well, and we only get about one tenth of the outdoors time Mason espoused for kids.  But the book did turn me on to a grammar book I might use.

5.  Hand of God by Bernard Nathanson:  This is an interesting biography of a founding member of NARAL and abortion doctor who later became pro-life and converted to Catholicism.  I had to skip the chapter getting into the details of abortion procedure.

6.  The Art of Seducing a Naked Werewolf by Molly Harper:  This is the sequel to the above Molly Harper werewolf book and another fun read.

7.  Star Wars:  Conviction by Aaron Allston:  This is the latest book in the Fate of the Jedi sequel series that switches focus between Luke’s journey quest with his son Ben and Han and Leia’s attempt to protect their grand-daughter.  Apparently Allston is a Dr. Who fan since he named one of the alcoholic beverages in the book a sonic screwdriver.

8.  A Love that Multiplies by Michelle and Jim Bob Duggar:  This sequel covers a lot of the same ground as recent episodes of their show, but the section on character training has inspired me to do better in that area of parenting.

9.  Managers of Their Homes by Stephen and Teri Maxwell:  This is the scheduling and home organization system that the Duggars use.  I’m in the process of tweaking our schedules, but this system has really helped me get a grasp on where all of my time goes.

10.  Abandon by Meg Cabot:  This is the first of a new trilogy based on the myth of Persephone.  It’s a little darker than some of her previous books, but it was still an interesting read.

11.  Do Hard Things by Alex and Brett Harris:  This book challenges teenagers to defy the low expectations set for them by society by doing hard things.  It offers a lot of examples of how “normal” teens did extraordinary things.  This is a very inspirational read for anyone, but I totally plan to make my kids read it when they reach their teen years.  It does have a very Protestant Christian viewpoint, just FYI.

12.  Stupid Things Parents Do to Mess Up Their Kids by Dr. Laura Schlessinger:  Dr. Laura doesn’t pull any punches when she says that the best situation for kids is in a family with two married parents of opposite sexes in which one parent, preferably the mother, stays inside the home to provide care and guidance for the children.  She warns about the perils of not disciplining children, not supervising teens, and treating children like accessories there for our convenience.  I had some concerns, though, about her views on certain fertility treatments and sterilization (which the Catholic Church forbids), and I am not sure about her assertion that an unmarried pregnant woman should never ever try to raise the baby without the father (she should marry or put the baby up for adoption).

Explore posts in the same categories: Reading Lists 2011

2 Comments on “Reading List June 2011”


  1. Your #4 is the only one I’ve read, and it was enjoyable. I’m reading another CM book now, by Karen Andreola and its so full of info I keep re-reading parts of it. May never get through it 🙂 The CM method is much more than read-alouds and outdoor time, although those are my favorite parts! I’m just hoping my son will agree….

  2. Anonymous Says:

    I’m reading Conviction now, and I had to put the book down the instant I read ‘Sonic Screwdriver’ for laughing.


Leave a Reply

