September 2011 Reading List

1.  Born to Run by Christopher McDougall:  This book takes an interesting look at community, at running, at evolution, and at life.  Deep, huh?  I really recommend this for my marathon/runner friends.  It was so good it made me actually consider training for a marathon, until my common sense kicked in.  I’m not sure I really have calories to gamble with at this point.  But it was a really good read even though not exactly what I expected when I picked it up.

2.  Unplanned by Abby Johnson:  The power of this book lies in its simplicity.  This is just Ms. Johnson’s journey from being a college student to becoming a Planned Parenthood director and “Employee of the Year” and then to becoming a vocal advocate against abortion.  Even though she herself experienced three unplanned pregnancies while using birth control, she doesn’t take the time to connect all of the dots between the way Planned Parenthood pushes contraception and the rise in the number of abortions.  At first this annoyed me, but I see now that this could have made the book more preachy and less powerful as an account of personal revelation.

3.  Harry Potter and the Half-Blood Prince by J.K. Rowling:  I decided to pick this up off my shelf for a nice reread.  I seem to remember having some great new observation about it, but at this point (several weeks since I’ve read it) it totally escapes me.

4.  The Newman Guide to Choosing a Catholic College by Cardinal Newman Society:  Please refer to this post and this post.

5.  Dug Down Deep by Joshua Harris:  In this books Harris explores the importance for all Christians to have a basic understanding of Christian doctrine instead of just letting “feelings” guide their understanding of scripture.  While Harris, an evangelical, obviously holds to sola scriptura his explanation of basic doctrine holds pretty true for all denominations.  In fact, I think he would probably be surprised to learn how close he is in his understanding to Catholic doctrine.  One of his main points is that knowledge of doctrine is pointless if you don’t apply it to your life, and this is something I think that I struggle with.

6.  The Girl with the Dragon Tattoo by Stieg Larsson:  I saw the movie trailer for this when my husband and I saw the movie adaptation for Moneyball.  Besides being happy to see Christopher Plummer still working, I was intrigued by the storyline.  While there are some sexually explicit scenes in the book, I was not really surprised that the trailer alone added two sexual references that aren’t in the book.  It’s a great mystery, though, and I’ll be interested to read the sequels.

Explore posts in the same categories: Reading Lists 2011

Leave a Reply

