Not Lazy, But Hazy and Crazy Days of Not-Quite-Summer

My husband has been on Spring Break this past week, and we’ve been enjoying some early spring weather with temperatures hitting the 70’s.  I wish I could say that we had used the time to do lots of fun things like going to the zoo or hitting a museum, but mainly we’ve been dealing with doctor appointments and home repairs/renovation.

After almost a year of doing my business in the dark, I finally have a working light in the downstairs bathroom.  The utensil drawer was rebuilt since the front of it completely fell off about four years ago.  We finally got rid of that hideous ceiling fan/chandelier in my bedroom.  I’m still in the process of reorganizing the girls’ bedroom with furniture from IKEA (thank the Lord for my power drill/screw driver).  Did I also mention that I’m horribly cruel and am not giving my kids a spring break from homeschooling?

I have been trying to take the girls outside to enjoy this nice weather for at least an hour or so in the late afternoon or early evening.  They’ve really enjoyed riding their bikes and getting to see their neighborhood friends for the first time in months.  It’s amazing how much damage eight little girls (ages 21 months to 9 years) can do with a bucket of chalk and a long driveway.

It’s also been nice for me to catch up with the parents and compare notes on how all the kids have grown.  I think my favorite part, though, has been watching Sabrina (21 months) really become part of the gang.  She is having a blast riding her push car alongside her sisters on their bikes, drawing with chalk, playing with the bouncy balls, and generally watching the pandemonium.  Sabrina has also been interacting more with Sophia, the youngest girl next door who is only three months her senior.  Last summer the two toddlers weren’t very sure if each other, but now they are becoming little buddies.

But all this warm weather has got me thinking about preparing for the summer.  We usually spend several hours outside in the warm weather, and I inevitably wish that I had certain things on hand in the garage instead of having to send Bailey or Piper in the house to get this or that.  So, I’m in the process of putting together a “Summer Kit” of things we might need while we’re outside.

On my list, so far, are the following:

  1. Sunscreen:  a face stick and big bottle for arms and legs.
  2. Band-Aids
  3. Hand Sanitizer
  4. Paper Towels
  5. Scissors (for opening freeze pops)
  6. Non-perishable (and Non-Melting) Snacks

I know I’ll eventually need to start keeping my cooler in the kitchen, so that I can restock it with cold water bottles everyday.  I’m not sure we’re to that point yet.  Right now we’re fore-casted to have temperatures at least as high as the 60’s for a few more days, but I’ve lived in Illinois long enough to know that it might get as cold as the 30’s again before the warm weather sticks around for good.  We’ll try to enjoy it while we’ve got it, though.

Explore posts in the same categories: Parenting

Leave a Reply

