7 Quick Takes (v. 61)

I know that it’s Saturday, but…

1.  This is one of my rare brilliant ideas that was completely inspired by my more common bouts of laziness.

We spend a large portion of our days in the house, especially in the winter.  As a result the kids and I spend most of our days barefoot.  (Sorry, FlyLady!)  But in the evening there will be errands, appointments, and activities which require socks and shoes.  Now we also spend a large portion of our day on the middle floor of our three-story town home, and it’s hard enough to get everyone out the door without walking up and down the steep steps to the top floor fifteen times trying to get matching socks in all of the right sizes.

So, about a year ago, I brought all of the socks (except my husband’s) to the living room.  In that year, I’ve tried various storage bins and boxes, but recently I relocated these Sterilite drawers downstairs.  As you can see, I labeled one drawer for each person’s socks, so that it is very clear whose is whose.  In the bottom right drawer I keep diapers and extra packages of diaper wipes, and the top left drawer will eventually be filled with some clothes and supplies for the new baby.

There have been a few other bonuses from this:  1) I was also able to also keep panties handy for my potty-training preschooler, 2) said preschooler has been learning to write her name and her sister’s names by copying the labels, and 3) the socks can go straight from the dryer to the drawer instead of being lost in laundry basket limbo with the rest of the clean clothes.

2.  Have I mentioned that I also keep a basket for dirty laundry on top of the dryer because I am lazy?  It’s really nice to have some place to throw dirty socks, training panties, spill towels, and other clothing that would otherwise just collect indefinitely all over the living room and kitchen until I got around to carrying them upstairs.

3.  I’ve been getting homeschooling supplies delivered for the summer and fall semester.  Except for putting together my modern history outline, I have the other subjects all prepped (vocabulary, literature, math, typing, and grammar/Latin).  I decided to do the Family Formation program for religion next year, but since they won’t send me the first packet until August, there’s not anything I can really do there.  I’m just a little nervous about how close my due date is to the beginning of the semester, but I know it will all work out somehow.

4.  I’m currently at 25 weeks, and I’m starting to slightly panic in general.  Our wall calendar for the May and June is quickly filling up as I try to get everything done before my due date.  In addition to already-scheduled swim classes and dental visits, I had to schedule Katie’s 4-year check-up, Sabrina’s 2-year check-up, my Level 2 ultrasound, and long overdue eye exams for myself and the three older girls.  Then there are my regular midwife visits (including the glucose test).  I still need to schedule a routine hearing test for Piper (something I do when each kid is in first grade), and then I’m trying to get the van as up-to-date on all of its maintenance as we can afford.  Oh, and I have to go to the DMV and get a new driver’s license made before the current one expires!

5.  Back in September my mother-in-law and I rented a small storage unit in preparation for her moving in with us.  It gave us both a place to get some things out of the way while we re-arranged the house.  This month we completely cleared the unit out.  We both ended up donating some things to Goodwill, and now that things have settled we found some spare storage space in the house for the rest.  After hearing horror stories about people who end up paying for these units for years and years after moving, I was kind of proud of us for getting it cleared out as soon as we did.  And we both appreciate dropping that monthly payment.

6.  Piper (6) is technically in kindergarten, but she’s already over half-way through first grade math.  (We use Singapore Primary Mathematics U.S. Edition.)  This time around I bought the Home Instruction Guide for set 1B.  While I obviously understood how to do first grade math in general, it was nice to know which concepts were meant to just be introductory and which ones were meant to be mastered in preparation for the next level.  Right now we are at a point where Piper needs to have her addition  and subtraction facts to and from 10 pretty much down before we can move on to the next unit in her book.

As I expected, she has the addition ones pretty much down, but she was struggling with her subtraction facts.  It made me think that  I should share the two online math resources that I use most often for extra math practice.  If I just want basic worksheets, I go to math-drills.com.  They have an extensive collection of free printable worksheets about a wide variety of math topics for various grade levels.  For a little more fun, I have the kids play at Fun 4 the Brain.   I especially recommend Cone Crazy for addition or subtraction facts and Minko’s Milkshake Shoppe for multiplication and division facts.

7.  Leila at Little Catholic Bubble has added a new section to her blog called “Little Teachings” .  These are a variety of posts about Catholic teachings that might be of interest to Catholic and non-Catholic friends alike.  She has a great way of explaining things, especially topics that are often misunderstood by Catholics and non-Catholics alike.  I’m looking forward to reading through them all myself.

Explore posts in the same categories: 7 Quick Takes, Catholic Faith, Homeschooling/Education, Pregnancy/Childbirth/Babies

One Comment on “7 Quick Takes (v. 61)”

  1. bobbi @ revolution of love Says:

    Hi! this is my first time to your blog. I read your comment at Jen’s blog about the family bed and had to come check it out. 🙂 Congrats on the pregnancy and kudos for making your small space work. I laughed at your laundry basket since I even have a basket in the corner of our family room since there are always dirty socks and whatnots strewn around. LOL. Lastly, I too am a fan of OUAT. Only two episodes left! Anyway, thanks for sharing and enjoy your day!


Leave a Reply

