7 Quick Takes (v. 74)

1.  Cassidy had her two-week check-up on Wednesday.  She’s back up to her birth weight plus an extra half ounce.  We can tell that her cheeks and arms and legs are starting to fill out a little bit more.  And her umbilical cord fell off this week, too.

2.  About a month ago, my husband and I each started giving the girls blessings before bedtime.  Last night Sabrina (2) said, “Let me see your forehead.”  Then she took her pointer finger and made the sign of cross,  and I heard her say “Father, Holy Spirit.  Amen.”  It was so sweet.

3.  Bailey and Piper have been preparing for the first day of school on Monday.  They’ve been packing their book bags and setting out their outfits and going over their schedules.  I’ve refrained from pointing out that most of their preparations are unnecessary since they are–um, homeschooled!  Oh, well, at least they are excited about starting back with their studies.  I’m sure that won’t last long.

4.  For the first time since we decided to homeschool six or seven years ago, I am actually nervous about starting a semester.  I don’t know if I’ve finally hit some sort of burn out, or if I’m just feeling slightly over-whelmed at thought of homeschooling with the new baby.  The baby isn’t particularly difficult, but she is by nature time consuming.  Is it bad that I’m already wanting to plan the next year of homeschooling, and we haven’t even started this one?

5.  I usually coordinate our school year with my husband’s teaching schedule.  I’m beginning to wonder if that was a wise move this time around.  Not only will I be upping my workload from what it has been since the baby was born, but on Monday my husband will be back to teaching on campus full time rather than on-line classes from home.  This means that I will be on my own with all of the kids all day long and I may not get to take my afternoon nap on a day when I just might need it the most.

6.  I had a little hiccup with my recovery on Monday that led me to check in with my OB practice.  I weighed in at 135 pounds, meaning that I’ve lost about 12 pounds since the baby was born.  I can’t fit into any of my non-maternity pants or skirts, but it is nice to be able to wear some of my regular shirts again.  But now I am in a bit of conundrum.  Part of me would like to not go any lower than a 130 pounds (I usually tend to be severely underweight while I am nursing), but the other part of me does not want to have to buy a new wardrobe.  Plus, I don’t know how keeping a health weight would effect the return of my fertility.

7.  Lately I’ve really been considering editing my Facebook stream.  With the presidential election looming ahead of us, I am so tired of some of the unfair rhetoric about both candidates.  And then there are other memes and posts that really annoy me.  I think I’m just going to start banning some people from my stream entirely, especially if I’m already hiding half their posts.  I won’t unfriend them in case I want to get in touch with them or check on them from time to time, but I really don’t need to be annoyed by their lack of critical thinking and research skills.

Explore posts in the same categories: 7 Quick Takes

One Comment on “7 Quick Takes (v. 74)”

  1. Laurke Says:

    I hear you on the facebook thing. I’ve starting telling it to send me “only important updates” on quite a few people, particularly the overly negative or political posts…which tend to come from the same people 🙂
    Glad Cassidy is doing well! I had a white rabbit that i named hop-a-long cassidy back in high school. Original, right?


Leave a Reply

