This Is My Time

Now that all of the nasty viruses seem to have finally left our house, I am left with a To Do list a mile long.  Some things are divorce-related and others are just a part of life.

Right now I am getting by financially, but the reality is that I will need to get at least part time job within a year or two.  I think that I can squeak by on child support and maintenance (aka alimony) until then, but it’s going to be very hard for to get ahead of the game–build up savings, not accrue debt, and have money for fun– if I don’t eventually get a job.  I’m just trying to hold off for as long as I can because a) the income to cost of childcare ratio is probably not going to be very favorable, and b) I’m trying to keep the girls’ lives as consistent as possible for now, and me going back to work would be a major upheaval.

It’s been 11 years since I held a full-time job, and I know that the medical billing field has seen huge changes since I left.  If I had to get a job right this instant, my best bet would probably be to try to get a position at a daycare center.  (I do have almost 12 years of non-stop experience changing diapers.)  Then I could keep my little ones somewhat with me and get a discount on their care.  But I’m not sure that medical billing or child care is what I would really want to do.

I picked up a copy of What Color Is Your Parachute? at my local library, hoping for a little guidance about what to expect “out there” in the job-hunting world these days.  The book made two points that have really been rattling around in my brain a lot this past week.

1.  “There are ways we can define, at least to ourselves, what the meaning of this period of unemployment is, now.”

  • “These months have meaning because I am making this a Time for Thinking.”
  • “These months have meaning because I am making this a Time for Learning.”
  • “These months have meaning because I am making this a Time for Repairing.”
  • “These months have meaning because I am making this a Time for Growing.”

2.  The job-hunting method with the highest success rate (86%) is to do an inventory of yourself:  discerning which of your skills you most enjoy using, which work environments would make you most happy, and how to get where you want to be.

 

I really feel like God has been whispering these things in my ear over and over again the past few weeks.  It’s in this secular job-hunting book.  For the first time in months I glanced at the 10 Principles of Success advocated by Matthew Kelly, and the first one is self-knowledge.  Step 4 of Codependents Anonymous is to make a searching and fearless moral inventory of ourselves; I came across the Word document the other day where I began that work but never finished.  And then when I was reading Jen Fulwhiler’s e-book about how to follow your dreams while raising a large family, one of her first steps involves self analysis.

This is my time for thinking.  This is my time for learning–studying myself  and maybe seeking some further education or job training.  This is my time for repairing–repairing my home, repairing my kids, repairing relationships, and repairing myself (mentally, physically, and emotionally).  This is my time for growing–building new skills, overcoming some of my weaknesses and limitations, and striving even more towards holiness.

This is my time.

Explore posts in the same categories: Divorce, Religion

Leave a Reply

