Mommy’s Room

When it came time to figure out what color scheme to use in my room, I had no idea where to start.  Home decorating sites and articles will say to look at what you own and figure the color scheme from there.  But I really had nothing going on in my bedroom except worn out and/or hand-me-down bedding and a newer birch-effect chest of drawers (Malm series, IKEA).

So, the first thing I did was pick out a new bedspread.  I searched several websites for something affordable that I liked well enough.  I chose this Chevron comforter from Target.  I bought new sheets and pillow cases from Wal-mart to match.

Mine 3

I matched the blue on the comforter against several Glidden paint chips until I found the perfect shade for the accent wall, Bermuda Bay.  I knew that shade of blue would probably be too over-powering for the entire room, so I chose Pebble Gray as a neutral contrast.  I never would have thought of gray at first, but it really came out well.  I used Swan White for the trim.

For the first time in 11 years I put my mattress and box springs up on a metal frame.  They had been on the floor in order to provide a shorter fall for little babies.  Since Cassidy is big enough to climb down properly, I no longer have to worry about that.  This also opened up storage room under the bed.

Mine 1

I found this metal table in the bathroom section of IKEA and fell in love with it.  I purchased the lamp at Goodwill for about $5 and a replacement lamp shade at IKEA.  I previously owned the candles, and the plaque with the Memorare prayer was purchased during my trip to St. Meinrad Archabbey in May.

Mine 2

When I was painting I got a wild hair to paint the trim over the closet with the Bermuda Blue.  The curtains are the same that had been in the room previously, but I purchased a new white curtain rod and metal pull-backs.  It’s nice to be able to let in all of that natural light.

Mine 6Mine five

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

I still need to prime and paint the doors.  That will be one of my next painting projects.  I also have a ton of decorating ideas; unfortunately, I don’t have a ton of money.  There is a lot more space left in the room than I thought there would be, so I think I am going to move my puzzle table back up from the basement.  I know from the past that it will fit perfectly under that window when I want to use it, or I can keep it folded up neatly when it’s not in use.

I really love my new room.  I actually want to make my bed everyday, which has usually never been very important to me.   It feels calm and clean and beautiful and like a fresh start.

 

Explore posts in the same categories: Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

